The Cancer will Run

Today, I woke up and my gut was telling me something wasn’t right. I was looking at our wedding pictures, watching our wedding video, watching my mom. We did it, we made it – we made it to our wedding date and we celebrated, we laughed, we cried and we smiled so much it hurt. She was there.

We’re at Yale Smilow Cancer Hospital. Watching my mom sleep, while they look for a bed for her. 

Her team of doctors have now become part of our family. They hug us, call us and take care of us beyond what doctors are supposed to do. They love us, but never as much as we love them. 

  
We sat there and cried. You could see tears in their eyes. They said, this is the end. The cancer will take its course. Chemotherapy is no longer possible. We will keep her comfortable. 

We have been admitted to Yale Smilow Cancer Hospital. As she lays next to me, I’m numb. This can’t be happening, not to us, not to her. We will be here now until they tell us if and when they will move us. The options consist of coming home or going to inpatient hospice. Two options we never wanted to hear. Two choices we never wanted to make. 

She’s my mom, she’s a wife, a sister, a mother in law, an aunt, a friend and a fighter. She’s fought this battle with everything. We all have fought this battle. And she’s tired. We all are tired. 

Just as she has always been by our sides, we are by hers. As she fights the final battle. We love you so much mom. So many people love you. You are an inspiration and a gift.

7 thoughts on “The Cancer will Run

  1. Oh Ashley, I am so sorry to hear these words, but I hate to see your mom suffer. I go back a long time with your mom and although I may not have a been a big part in her life in her last few years, she always had had a special place in my heart. We share many memories. Please tell her I love her and will never forget her. I am praying for her and you and your dad.

    Like

  2. Sending you prayers and much love to you all ….so glad you had a beautiful wedding and such wonderful memories of that special day . Thank you for sharing your story …bless πŸ™

    Like

  3. Ashley, I am so sorry. I have been in your shoes twice and there are no words. Spend as much time with her as you can and keep telling her how much you love her. My heart truly breaks for you all. I will be praying for you and your family. I am so glad that you have the beautiful memories with her at your wedding.❀❀

    Like

  4. You and your entire family and medical staff are in my prayers! Prayers that you can enjoy and live in the little bursts of joy you feel when you think about wonderful memories such as your wedding! XOXO TFJ

    Like

  5. Ashley, Alan, Steve and Dearest Sue…..Love eachother, be with eachother with no regrets! God and your love for eachother will give you the strength to endure. The Grabowski family love you all very much! Holding you in the palm of His hand β€οΈπŸ’•β€οΈπŸ’•

    Like

  6. Ashley…
    I had the absolute pleasure of doing your makeup and mommies makeup for your wedding… What an honor and pleasure! What a truly beautiful day! I am so very sorry for what you and your whole family are going through! I will keep you all in my thoughts and prayers!!! Xo
    Love,
    Samantha Thomas

    Like

Leave a Reply

